All Zoom Users Now Get End-to-End Protection

  • Whatsapp

Teknoku.me – Zoom video conferencing application has finally launched an end-to-end (E2EE) encryption feature, to complement the security of its services.

This feature is available for all paid and free users who use Zoom via PC, Mac, iOS, Android, or Zoom Rooms.

Read More

However, this feature is not yet available on web clients or third-party applications that use the Zoom SDK. Before coming to more users, the end-to-end encryption feature was only available to paid users.

However, this policy has been criticized by many parties because since the pandemic, Zoom users have jumped sharply, both free and paid. Especially for free users, they will be asked to verify their cellphone numbers using SMS.

Within the first 30 days, users will be asked for feedback about the feature.

After 30 days, this feature will still be available. Previously, Zoom only offered encryption that data was stored between meeting participants and Zoom servers.

The encryption was not end-to-end for each participant, which in theory would be safer, because any party, including Zoom, could not “peek” or “eavesdrop” on the video conference.

When a meeting has end-to-end encryption enabled, a green shield sign appears on the top left. The shield had the image of a padlock, indicating a thoroughly protected seal.

However, there are some Zoom features that cannot use E2EE features, such as cloud recording, live transcription, polling, reactions, and joining before the host.

E2EE million cannot be activated using a SIP / H.323 device or a Lync / Skype client. This launch is just the beginning.

There will be four phases for rolling out the E2EE features.

One of its phases includes better identity management and single sign-on support. It is likely that the changes will be released next year.

How to activate E2EE
1. Enter the web or the Zoom app
2. Click “Account Management”, then select “Account Settings”.
3. Select the “Meeting” tab.
4. In the “Security” section, ensure that the “Allow use of end to end encryption” section is enabled.
5. If it’s not already active, just slide the toggle, then click “Turn On”.
6. If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, click the lock icon, then click “Lock” to confirm the setting.
7. Under “Security” select the default encryption type.
8. Select “Save”.

Related posts